Reflection

tumblr_inline_nsko4jgjo51tzk7tw_1280

I heard something recently.

The Universe loves us so much that it will show us exactly what is deep within our minds as patterns we experience in our lives over and over and over again. It may not show up as the same person but perhaps similar people. It may not be the same experience, but others will seem familiar.

Our body is also an amazing thing. I’ve recently discovered for myself how much information my body shows me just how I think and more importantly feel about myself. I had read something interesting from a book by Doreen Virtue (name escape’s me at the present). She said that people with larger chests will often at some level feel that they need to protect their heart. When I thought about that for myself, it really seemed to apply.

My body has felt like a suit of armour for most of my life; it has felt very heavy for so long. I’ve always had this sense of having the world on my shoulders. My body has been a suit of armour for me because I’ve always felt the need to protect myself. Protect my heart from pain; always fearing that if I allowed myself to be vulnerable I would fall apart like a house of cards. I still struggle with body issues and emotional eating; however, having this awareness has awakened me to a new possibility.

What would it be like to have a better sense of wellbeing. How would that feel? What would it be like to wake up without pain or tension in my shoulders? To feel well rested? Energized? To come home from work and have the energy to cook a meal? To do a workout? To stick to a workout routine?

Don’t get me wrong, I need to be very accountable to what I put in my body and how much I decide to move it. But after encountering block after block of failed healthy eating attempts and exercise routines makes me wonder if this was my Wrong Way sign. Maybe I need to start believing that having a good sense of wellbeing is my right; is everyone’s right.

That everyone deserves to be healthy and happy. Not something idealized version of perfection, but just having a good overall sense of wellbeing. I could never see that for myself before.

I think I’ll start trying now.

Picture Source: http://poemsfromherlife.com/2014/10/

Leave a Reply

