Bridge

tumblr_inline_o8qkscvsl01tzk7tw_1280

One day,

She was sitting upon a bridge,

Overlooking the rushing waters below.

‘It would be so easy…’ she thought to herself,

‘One slip, and it would all end.’

She shook her head,

‘No….I can’t do that. I can’t do that to the ones that I love.’ she thought.

‘But I can’t go on like this either,’ she thought, ‘I can’t bear to feel trapped in this ache.’

‘This ache that won’t go away, this ache of the shame I bear for the mess that I created.’

‘This loneliness is so unbearable; I have no where to turn…’ she thought.

Her hands cupped in front of her, catching her tears.

Her sobs drowned out by the rushing river below.

He appeared at her side. She looked over at Him.

“You must be so ashamed of me,” she said, “I’m sorry, I wouldn’t actually do such a thing.”

A tear fell from His eye.

“You know Child, free will is both the most beautiful thing I created and the worst.” He said,

“You can’t imagine what a parent goes through, watching their Child suffer and not being able to do a thing about it.” He said.

“I wasn’t going to do anything, I promise” She said.

“I know Child, but I must ask Myself this question; how did we get here?” He asked.

“I did this, it was my fault.” She said.

“No Child, that’s not what I’m talking about.” He said.

She looked over at Him, “I don’t get what you mean…”

Looking out over the river He spoke, “You forgot that I’m here. You forgot I’m your Father and that you can trust me to always be here for you. Even when you feel you’ve been abandoned, that no one will ever understand you. Even when you feel that you are alone and have no one to turn to.”

“Know this Child: I am here for you and it will get better. Your golden horizon is visible. You must simply look up to see it.” He said.

For a second, she took her vision off of the river down below and saw a most beautiful sight.

The sun dipping down in the sky, creating all sorts of beautiful hues of yellow, orange and pink.

He spoke, “anytime you feel like you are trapped Child, trapped in the pain you feel is so immense that you can only see one way out, just do me one favour…”

“Go outside and look up!” He exclaimed.

“The infinite sky will remind you that there is no problem so great that can’t be solved, no wound so deep that can’t be healed, no situation so difficult that it cannot be resolved.” He said.

“You’ll find me there, watching over you, reassuring you that I’ve got you, and you are not alone.” He took her hand.

“Your golden horizon awaits you.”

Drinking in the depth of His words, she looked over to Him and found herself once again alone on the bridge.

She looked up at the fading sky; hues of yellow, orange, and pink.

Feeling cradled as a new born babe,

She knew she was loved.

Picture reference: https://fairydorothy.wordpress.com/2013/10/25/beautiful-bridge/

Leave a Reply

